Unveiling the Excitement: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 Format, Teams, and Schedule


The T20 World Cup 2024 began on June 1, 2024, with the USA facing Canada in Dallas in Group A. The tournament will continue until June 29, including 20 teams split into four groups. Ten teams, including India, England, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and the Netherlands, secured spots based on their performance in the previous edition. The remaining ten teams earned their places through qualifying tournaments.

Teams of T20 World Cup 2024 

Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, England, India, Ireland, Namibia, Nepal, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea (PNG), Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Uganda, USA, and West Indies are the countries set to participate in the T20 World Cup 2024.

Format of the T20 World Cup 2024

In contrast to the previous two tournament editions, the current format includes a change. Previously, eight teams initially competed in a group stage before progressing to the Super 12 stage. However, in the 2024 T20 World Cup, 20 teams are divided into four groups, with no initial group stage before the Super 12 round. This alteration in format aims to provide a fresh and more inclusive approach to the tournament structure.

The Men’s T20 World Cup’s initial phase will occur in both the West Indies and the USA. Following this, the second round, referred to as the Super 8, will be exclusively hosted in the Caribbean nations.

In the initial stage, all 20 teams will compete after being split into four groups, each containing five teams. Here’s how the progression unfolds:

– The top two teams from each group will advance to the Super 8 round.

– In the Super 8 round, the eight teams will be divided into two groups, with four in each group.

– The top two teams from each group in the Super 8 round will secure spots in the semifinals.

– The winners of the two semifinal matches will face off in the highly anticipated T20 World Cup 2024 final scheduled for June 29.

There are groups of T20 World Cup

Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D
PakistanEnglandNew ZealandNetherlands
IrelandNamibiaPapua New GuineaNepal
United StatesOmanUgandaSouth Africa
CanadaScotlandWest IndiesSri Lanka

During the Super 8 stage, the teams will be divided into two groups, competing in a single-round-robin league format. The top two teams from each group will then progress to the tournament’s semifinals.

T20 World Cup 2024 Venues

The ICC T20 World Cup is rotated among different countries worldwide. The tournament will be held in the West Indies and the USA for this year’s edition. The host nation is chosen through a bidding process conducted by the ICC. In the current year, the West Indies and the USA successfully secured the bid to host the ICC T20 World Cup. Hosting the tournament provides the host nation with a valuable opportunity to exhibit its cricketing facilities, hospitality, and love for the game globally.

The T20 World Cup 2024 will feature 55 matches held at six venues in the West Indies: Kensington Oval in Barbados, Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad, Providence Stadium in Guyana, Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua, Darren Sammy Cricket Ground in St Lucia, and Arnos Vale Stadium in St Vincent. Additionally, games will take place at three stadiums in the USA: Eisenhower Park in New York, Lauderhill in Florida, and Grand Prairie in Texas.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 Schedule

Match No. Day DateMatchVenue 
1Sat01-June-24USA vs Canada Dallas 
2Sun 02-June-24West Indies vs Papua New Guinea Guyana
3Sun02-June-24Namibia vs OmanBarbados
4Mon03-June-24Sri Lanka vs South Africa New York 
5Mon03-June-24Afghanistan vs Uganda Guyana 
6Tue04-June-24England vs Scotland Barbados 
7Tue04-June-24Netherlands vs Nepal Dallas 
8Wed05-June-24India vs Ireland New York 
9Wed05-June-24Papua New Guinea vs Uganda Guyana 
10Wed05-June-24Australia vs OmanBarbados 
11Thur06-June-24USA vs Pakistan Dallas 
12Thur06-June-24Namibia vs Scotland Barbados 
13Fri07-June-24Canada vs Ireland New York 
14Fri07-June-24New Zealand vs Afghanistan Guyana 
15Fri07-June-24Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh Dallas 
16Sat08-June-24Netherlands vs South Africa New York 
17Sat08-June-24Australia vs England Barbados 
18Sat08-June-24West Indies vs Uganda Guyana 
19Sun09-June-24India vs Pakistan New York 
20Sun09-June-24Oman vs Scotland Antigua 
21Mon10-June-24South Africa vs Bangladesh New York 
22Tue11-June-24Pakistan vs Canada New York 
23Tue11-June-24Sri Lanka vs Nepal Florida 
24Tue11-June-24Australia vs Namibia Antigua 
25Wed12-June-24USA vs India New York 
26Wed12-June-24West Indies vs New Zealand Trinidad
27Thurs13-June-24England vs OmanAntigua 
28Thurs13-June-24Bangladesh vs Netherlands St. Vincent 
29Thurs13-June-24Afghanistan vs Papua New Guinea Trinidad 
30Fri14-June-24USA vs Ireland Florida 
31Fri14-June-24South Africa vs Nepal St. Vincent 
32Fri14-June-24New Zealand vs Uganda Trinidad 
33Sat15-June-24India vs Canada Florida 
34Sat15-June-24Namibia vs England Antigua 
35Sat15-June-24Australia vs Scotland St.Lucia
36Sun16-June-24Pakistan vs Ireland Florida 
37Sun16-June-24Bangladesh vs Nepal St. Vincent 
38Sun16-June-24Sri Lanka vs Netherlands St. Lucia 
39Mon17-June-24New Zealand vs Papua New Guinea Trinidad 
40Mon17-June-24West Indies vs Afghanistan St.Lucia
41Wed19-June-24A2 vs D1Antigua 
42Wed19-June-24B1 vs C2St. Lucia 
43Thur20-June-24C1 vs A1Barbados 
44Thur20-June-24B2 vs D2Antigua 
45Fri 21-June-24B1 vs D1St. Lucia
46Fri 21-June-24A2 vs C2Barbados 
47Sat22-June-24A1 vs D2Antigua 
48Sat22-June-24C1 vs B2St. Vincent 
49Sun23-June-24A2 vs B1Barbados 
50Sun23-June-24C2 vs D1Antigua 
51Mon24-June-24B2 vs A1St. Lucia 
52Mon24-June-24C1 vs D2St. Vincent 
53Wed26-June-24Semi 1Guyana
54Thur27-June-24Semi 2Trinidad 
55Sat29-June-24Final Barbados 

Summing up the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, the format features the world’s top cricketing nations competing in thrilling T20 matches. Teams from around the globe will battle it out in an action-packed tournament following a set schedule of matches leading up to the grand finale. Stay tuned for an unforgettable display of skill, strategy, and sportsmanship on the cricket field.