Kolkata Knight Riders clinch their third IPL title after a decade-long wait for glory

KKR beat SRH

Harshit Rana from Kolkata Knight Riders and his fellow teammates jubilantly rejoice after successfully getting Sunrisers Hyderabad’s Heinrich Klaasen out during the thrilling IPL 2024 final showdown.

Venkatesh Iyer played an outstanding innings, scoring a brilliant half-century, and Andre Russell made a significant impact by taking three important wickets in the IPL 2024 final match, leading Kolkata Knight Riders to an impressive victory over Sunrisers Hyderabad by 8 wickets. This victory marks Kolkata Knight Riders’ third IPL championship, breaking a 10-year gap since their last win under Gautam Gambhir’s leadership in IPL 2014.

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s choice to bat first, having won the toss, didn’t go as expected, leading to the Pat Cummins-led team being bowled out for a mere 113 runs. Kolkata Knight Riders, captained by Shreyas Iyer, now have a modest target of 114 runs to secure the IPL 2024 championship title.

This total of 113 runs is the lowest ever recorded in an IPL final. In 2013, Chennai Super Kings scored 125/9 against Mumbai Indians in the title clash.

Sunrisers Hyderabad emerged victorious in the toss for the IPL 2024 final, with their captain, Pat Cummins, opting to bat first. On the other hand, Kolkata Knight Riders’ captain Shreyas Iyer remained unfazed by losing the toss as he had a preference to bowl first regardless of the outcome.

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), led by Shreyas Iyer, are all set for the ultimate showdown against Sunrisers Hyderabad, led by Pat Cummins, as the top contenders of the IPL 2024 clash in the final match at the iconic MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. Both captains have overcome numerous obstacles on their path to the summit and are prepared to give their all to claim the prestigious IPL 2024 trophy.