A Brief about DDA Housing Scheme


In order to facilitate better standards of living, the Delhi Development Authority (DDA) launched its Delhi Housing Scheme on March 25, 2019. This scheme offers 17,922 flats to Indian citizens residing Delhi and these units are mainly concentrated in the residential areas of Vasant Kunj and Narela. The DDA has also started a free shuttle service for prospective applicants to come and inspect the locality for themselves.

The DDA housing scheme offers flats based on the income category you fall under, which is divided into the low-income group (LIG), the medium-income group (MIG), the high-income group (HIG) or the economically weaker section (EWS). With the first round of applications already underway, the last date for you to submit yours is 10 May, 2019. Before applying for the DDA housing scheme 2019, here are a few helpful pointers to keep in mind.

Visit the Online Portal to Stay Updated

Staying updated is crucial, as this will keep you abreast with new announcements and deadlines related to the scheme. Visit the DDA Housing Scheme website and navigate it to access helpful resources. Under the ‘online public service’ menu, you’ll find a link to all the information regarding the DDA Housing Scheme. Additionally, you will also find a list of banks that facilitate the application process.

Know the Steps to Apply for the DDA Housing Scheme

Before you apply, ensure that you’re eligible for the scheme. Here is the eligibility criteria you need to keep in mind.

  • You must be over 18 years and not own any residential unit/plot in Delhi in your name or in your dependent’s name.
  • If married, you and your spouse can apply separately, but only one of you can retain the unit.
  • Keep in mind the income criteria you need to abide by for each category. For instance, to apply under the EWS category, your income should be Rs.3 lakh per year or less.

To Apply:

  • Visit the DDA online portal
  • Click on ‘DDA Housing Scheme 2019’
  • Select a suitable bank and fill out the online application. You do not need to be a member of the bank to apply with it and banks such as HDFC, ICICI, SBI, etc., and included in this list.
  • After application, choose between the two payment options, i.e. NEFT/RTGS or net banking to pay for your registration.

Familiarise Yourself with the Process and Fees Involved

Under the Delhi Awas Yojana scheme, the fees for registration vary basis the size of the flat you intend to buy and the category for which you qualify. If you apply for a Janta flat, for instance, then the registration fees is Rs.10,000. For a 1BHK, it is Rs.15,000. Based on the income segmentation, here are the registration fees you need to pay.

  • EWS: Rs.25,000
  • LIG: Rs.1 lakh
  • MIG/HIG: Rs.2 lakh

Keep in mind that the DDA Housing Scheme works on the basis of a draw of lots. If your name is chosen, you can further proceed with buying the flat. If not, your registration fees will be refunded.

Gather the Documents Required

If you’re a successful applicant after the draw, you’ll need to submit a few documents to cement your investment. Here’s what you’ll require.

Proof of residence: A self-attested copy of your Passport, Aadhaar Card, Voter’s ID or utility bill.

  • Bank statement: A self-attested copy of your bank passbook or statement for the last one year. Alternatively, you can also furnish the self-attested copy of your IT returns filed for the year.
  • Apart from these you will have to mandatorily submit a self-attested copy of your PAN card.

On being successfully chosen for a flat under the DDA housing scheme, you will be able to become a homeowner affordably in the capital of the country. As exciting as it may sound, owning a flat will cost you and to prepare for that investment you should consider the option of a home loan. Whether you’re buying, renovating or constructing, home loans offer great benefits to you. They offer you tax benefits of up to Rs.1.5 lakh on the principal loan amount and up to Rs.2 lakh on interest payments.